Avoiding Crisis

confessions of a twin sister

with 6 comments

As I’ve mentioned in the past, I’m a fraternal twin.  My twin is a boy, which makes him my brother – duh!  Being identified as a twin is important to me, it has always been important.  I even have the kanji symbols for twin tattooed on the inside of my right ankle.  And no, before you ask, my brother doesn’t have the same tattoo.   

My brother and I have kinda grown apart in recent years.  I know this.  He knows it.   Neither one of us actually talks about it.  It’s just how it is.  It kinda sucks really.  There’s this one person that you think will always be your closest friend and then one day you wake up to realize that you don’t even know that much about them anymore.  How does that happen?  Life, I guess, just gets in the way.  Neither one of us is to blame and yet we are both to blame. It’s not how I ever imagined things between us, but things happen.  We both, I guess, have gotten caught up in our own lives.         

Obviously my brother and I turn 30 on the same day –  actually he’ll turn 30 a whole 13 minutes before me, but who’s counting?   Soon after I started this blog I remember asking him if he was bothered by the prospect of turning 30.  He said that he really hadn’t thought much about it but that he didn’t think it would be an issue for him.  Why does he react one way and I another to the same life event?   And then, it hit me, like a ton of bricks, of course turning 30 wouldn’t bother him.  He’s doing exactly what he thought he’d be doing by the age of 30.

For as long as I can remember my brother wanted to be a politician.  And if my memory serves me, his dream has always been to be a United States Senator one day.  That’s a pretty lofty goal for a kid.  When we were younger I used to laugh at him when he would say this and never for a minute thought that it was possible.  I know, it was totally wrong and completely unsupportive of me.  Give me a break, I was like 16 years old!  And besides,  he used to call me a dog and once threw a hammer at my head.

My brother moved out to Colorado a few years back.  Colorado has been good for him.  He loves it there.  Says he’s never coming back East.  (Not like I’m one to judge, I don’t even live in the same hemisphere.)  He will run for office in Colorado some day, I’m sure of that.  As for now, he works for the State by day, and is “super Democrat boy” by night. 

I never realized just how involved and how dedicated my brother (whose first name is Mark) is to achieving his life long goal until I came across the following in a blog post on DemNotes

Let me stop and say a couple of words about Mark. …Mark is easily one of the most under-rated folks in the State Party structure. Quietly, he’s been walking door-to-door with candidates across Colorado — doing everything he can to elect Democrats whereever he can. He does all of this in addition to his normal job duties as Treasurer, which are incredibly taxing (no pun intended). Here’s my point: I sure hope that the folks on the State Central Committee keep Mark — he is a HUGE asset to our Party.

Wow. 

There’s a lot I don’t know about my brother.  Even still, I’m one proud twin sister. 

Written by nicolemarie

February 27, 2007 at 11:35 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mark is actually being awarded the young democrat of the year this Saturday night in Denver

    MikeF

    February 27, 2007 at 11:46 pm

  2. Actualy the award if for Colorado Young Democrat of the Year, not national, just wanted to clarify. In addition, I just got elected to be a Board Member of the National Stonewall Democrats, I love Politics, Run Al Run!!!!

    MarkF

    February 27, 2007 at 11:51 pm

  3. Congrats Mark!

    nicolemarie

    February 27, 2007 at 11:53 pm

  4. I too am half of a twin set! I too have a twin brother and can relate very well to Nicole’s feelings of growing apart from someone who was a very “big” part of my growing up years. Yes, Nicole, it really does SUCK how some things change which you never wanted to change. But “That’s Life”! I wouldn’t want to change my wonderful life to make it turn out differently for my brother & me.

    Rosina

    March 1, 2007 at 7:24 pm

  5. Congratulations Mark, that’s great news.

    John

    March 1, 2007 at 10:17 pm

  6. I am also a twin sister of a brother. I was extremely blessed to always have an amazing closeness with him. I want to add that life is too short. I lost him to the war in Iraq, almost 4 years ago, 5 days after our 30th birthday. My life will NEVER be the same. I forever have a missing 1/2 of my heart! It sux!!! Please try to maintain the best of your relationship you can. Do you know what I would do to have my best friend here with me still?

    alicia

    April 24, 2008 at 1:32 pm


Leave a Reply

