Avoiding Crisis

comments on my hair (and britney’s too)

leave a comment »

Okay, so unless you live under a rock, in a cave or in a remote cabin somewhere without any access to the outside world, you have had to have heard by now that Britney has a new look.  This isn’t a big deal to me, really.  I could care less about what Britney does to her hair, or what any celebrity does to their hair for that matter.  But the whole drastic change of the hair bit did get me thinking, on a general level, about the changes we make and the reasons we make them. And on a more personal level about my own hair changes over the years.

Whenever I send out new photos to family and friends, 9 times out of 10, there is a response from at least one person that includes a comment about my hair.  It’s always the same: ‘Wow, you’re hair is so long, I can’t remember you ever having hair this long.’  And they’re 100% correct.  Unless you knew me when I was 5 or 6, my hair has never been as long as it is now. There is a very logical reason for this.

We all react to events in different ways.  We respond to life experiences in a manner that is unique to our person.  I can, without a doubt, trace my hair styles to my moods.  When I was depressed it got shorter.  When I was happy, I let it grow.  When I faced disappointment or a major letdown, I got it cut.  When I felt lost and confused I chopped it off.   The length of my hair since adolescense is like a time-line mapping out the ups and downs of my life.

I remember back in high school when my major bouts of depression started setting in.  It was freshman year.  I left school one day with hair just past my shoulders and returned the next day with very cropped cut, something like Demi Moore in Ghost.  I would do this drastic change again about 7 years later.  Having gone through 2 jobs in less than one year, having finally ended (for good this time) a long term relationship and having been completely lost about what I wanted to be doing and confused about what I wanted out of life, I went from shoulder length to pixie in the matter of an hour.    

Things would inevitably get better and then I’d wish my hair was long again.  Things would take a downward turn and I’d completely forget how much I didn’t like having short hair.  So like clockwork, I’d go and get it all chopped off.  Though I must admit, it never got that bad to make me go and shave my head.

Going back to Ms Spears for a moment, if Britney is anything like me with regards to how she reacts to the crap in her life, I could only begin to imagine how miserable she is right now and how pissed off she’s going to be in a few months when she realizes just what she’s done.  Sucks to be her.

As for me, I’m loving my long locks these days and it doesn’t look like I’ll be making any drastic changes anytime soon.  If I do, and you never know what lies around the corner, I’ll have to change the name of this blog to “In Crisis”.   Let’s hope that never happens. 

Written by nicolemarie

February 17, 2007 at 11:27 am

Leave a Reply

