Avoiding Crisis

“taking the long way around”

with one comment

So obviously I’ve been thinking a lot about who I’ve become, where I’ve been, where I’m going and everything in between.  It’s been an interesting journey thus far, this self-exploration stuff, and it’s only just begun.  No matter what memory I stir up or what experience I recall there is one constant in my life — I never seem to do anything the easy way.  Quoting country trio the Dixie Chicks, I always seem to be taking the long way around.

…I fought with a stranger and I met myself – I opened my mouth and I heard myself- It can get pretty lonely when you show yourself -Guess I could have made it easier on myself – But I, I could never follow…

 

I’m not really a music person.  I like listening to music, I’ll go to the occasional concert, but I’m just not a person who’s really into music.  I don’t often get excited over a new band, a new album or a new song.  My iPod tends to be stuck in shuffle mode.  Lately, however, I’ve been listening to one album — the Dixie Chicks’ Taking the Long Way — and oddly enough, one song more then others — The Long Way Around.  This just doesn’t happen very often.  Sure, I’ll download some new music and listen to it a few times before I go back into random shuffle mode, but this time it’s different.   I’ve become Dixie Chick obsessed and I don’t even really like country music; I don’t hate it either. 

 

I’ve always been amazed that an artist can create a work that emerges directly from their own experience and then release it to the public fully aware that each individual who sees or hears this work will interpret it differently based on their own individual perspectives. 

 

A photographer captures a picture of a young women sitting alone on the front porch of an old farm house.  There is a story that goes with that picture.  Why the photographer took it, what the women was doing, why she was sitting there at that exact moment.  Yet everyone that looks at that picture sees something different.  Some may feel that the woman in the picture is content, others may think she is worried. Some may conclude that she is waiting for someone while others find her to be resting after a hard day of work. 

 

It’s amazing, really, how an artist can create a image, or a song for that matter, that is autobiographical butyet can be taken by another person and made his or her own.  When you stumble onto something like this it’s very therapeutic, I think.  While you know that the words have nothing to do with you, they make so much sense you can’t help but think it’s as if they were written for you or about you.   

 

Well, I never seem to do it like anybody else – Maybe someday, someday I’m gonna settle down – If you ever want to find me I can still be found – Taking the long way – Taking the long way around

 

You listen to this one song over and over and over.  You’re so excited about this new revelation that you try to explain it to someone else.  They just look at you like you’re crazy.  You wonder if they are even listening to the same song, hearing the same words.  But then you remember, they are not you, they are not inside your head, they aren’t able to hear what you hear or feel what you feel.  They’ll have to find their own song.  So you turn the music up even louder and smile, nod your head in approval and faintly laugh. 

Written by nicolemarie

February 5, 2007 at 10:42 pm

Posted in art, life, lyrics, music

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cool Site! kabababrubarta

    kabababrubarta

    March 26, 2007 at 8:32 pm


Leave a Reply

