Avoiding Crisis

turning 30 means I’m going to be fat

leave a comment »

So I’m not done yet ranting about weight issues.  Yes, this whole weight issue is front and center in the news but the real reason behind last night’s rant was much more simple:  Real Simple magazine to be exact.  A friend passed me a copy of the Feb 2007 issue and I started reading it while I was having the car fueled up.  I’m flipping through the pages and of course I stop dead in my tracks when I see the sub-headline “in your 30s.” Mind you, this particular article has nothing to do with weight and/or dieting and everything to do with heart health, but I, of course, skip all the mumbo jumbo about what women should be doing to protect themselves from heart disease and only see the following bullet point:  Watch the scale. This is the decade when the pounds begin to pile on.  After age 30, Americans often gain a pound a year.  By the time you’re 60, that can mean 30 extra pounds.  AHHHHH!  I just spent the last year trying to get rid of the 15 pounds that I had gained in my 20s – which, I swear, had everything to do with my two pregnancies and nothing to do with the fact that I ate too much and didn’t exercise enough.  But now, I’m facing the fact that by the time I’m 60 I’m going to be fat, really fat! Oh, and probably dead of heart failure or at least suffering from heart disease because I didn’t finish reading the article.

Written by nicolemarie

February 1, 2007 at 10:16 am

Leave a Reply

