Avoiding Crisis

second thoughts

with 3 comments

“And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.”Syliva Plath

How I wish I was a gutsy person with a good imagination.  Maybe then this whole writing thing wouldn’t be so hard.  The complete lack of self-confidence in my ability doesn’t help either.  I should just forget about the whole writing thing.  Give up before I even start.  Start?  What’s that. It would be ever so helpful if I even knew how/where to start.  You can’t even begin to imagine what happens when you google “freelance writing.”  Well, that is, unless you’ve tried it.  Sorting out the crap from the useful information is nearly impossible. 

I did the next best thing.  I contacted the career development office at my alma mater to see if there were any alum that they knew of that wouldn’t mind being contacted about careers in writing.  They told me to look at the alum database because all the career information had been transferred there.  Great, I thought.  I’ll just search for alum that are writers, journalists, and/or in the publishing industry, etc.  Perfect. Not!  I’m just going to casually email Anna Quindlen asking for advice on how to get started.  Or, maybe I’ll write to Mary Gordon.  Dear Ms. Gordon, I didn’t take any of your classes while I was at Barnard because I was too busy with my nose stuck in history books and taking film classes (not to mention intimidated to take a single writing class because I’d be laughed out of the room) but I was wondering if you could point me in the right direction.  While I’m at it, why don’t I just drop “internet queen” Stephanie Klien a message with the subject “fellow Barnard alum waiting to be discovered – please help!.”   Yeah, this whole idea isn’t looking so good about now. I’m oh so motivated.  And then, I read something that gives me hope.  “Rejection happens to everyone. But I’ll keep writing because I’m not doing it for praise or condemnation.  I’m doing it just for me, being true to myself and what I know I was put on this earth to do.”  Thanks Stephanie.

Written by nicolemarie

January 26, 2007 at 12:02 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Okay, you won’t email Anna, she’ll email you.
    Google “Quindlen Writing” . The first hit will be her column from this week in Newsweek. It’s about the importance of writing. You’ll like it.

    Barry

    January 26, 2007 at 1:05 am

  2. hi there fellow traveler, i appreciate your blog. mine has a similar but a bit later in age theme. i’m 32. even writing it again seems weird. i still think of myself as somewhere in my late 20’s. best wishes avoiding your crisis. maybe your saturn return will be an easy one!
    warmly,
    lisamoon

    lisamoon

    January 26, 2007 at 2:26 am

  3. I say why not email these people. Seriously what is the worst thing that can realistically happen…they won’t respond. That being said, they might respond, alum networks do sometimes work wonders. Give it a shot.

    John

    January 26, 2007 at 4:21 pm


Leave a Reply

