Avoiding Crisis

rainy days

with 2 comments

I woke up this morning and didn’t want to get out of bed.  No, not because of the few too many glasses of wine that I had last night, nor because of the splitting headache I had (which by the way I assure you had nothing to do with the wine), but because it was just one of those days that staying in bed seemed like a wonderful plan.  It’s gloomy outside.  Hot, humid and rainy.  The sun hadn’t even tried to get out from behind the clouds.  If mr. sun didn’t have to get out of bed, why did I?  I love sleeping in on rainy days.  Pulling the covers up over my head and ignoring the world for a few more hours.   So as I’m slowly contemplating whether or not I’m going to join the land of the living any time soon,  wondering if the fresh mug of coffee that was siting on my nightstand would do the trick, BAM! it’s all over.  “Mommy” I hear my daughter yell as she comes barrelling into my room from hers.  “When are you getting up!” she demanded.  Then the questions begin and the talking didn’t end.  To be 24 again and be able to ignore my husband’s pleas to get out of bed, to even be able to ignore his bribes of coffee and Dunkin Donuts.  My daughter, however, is relentless, there is no ignoring a 4 year old.

I still have a headache.     

  

Written by nicolemarie

January 25, 2007 at 4:00 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. another day dawns, and the struggle begins again.

    All those good days … and then those bad ones.

    ggw

    ggwfung

    January 26, 2007 at 12:15 am

  2. […] rainy days […]


Leave a Reply

