Avoiding Crisis

when I grow up…

with 2 comments

Here’s a list of things that, at some time or another, I thought I wanted to become.

  • a ballerina 
  • a field hockey player
  • a broadcast journalist
  • an experimental filmmaker
  • a documentary filmmaker
  • a peace corps volunteer
  • an academic 
  • a teacher
  • a college professor  
  • a writer

I never thought about when I grow up I want to be a “mother and wife.” And for some reason or another, probably because life just happened, I am none of the things that I thought I would be, or that I thought I wanted to become, and instead I’m the two things I never thought about at all.  Funny how that happens. 

So now that I’m all grown up (or at least I pretend to be)….what is it that I want to be now? That’s a good question.  That may be THE question.  I’m leaning towards one thing on my list.  Probably the one thing that I’ve always wanted to be, the one thing that has been consistent all these years.  I want to be a writer.  There, I said it.  That wasn’t so difficult after all. 

Now, the hard part begins…     

Written by nicolemarie

January 22, 2007 at 8:09 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s very unfortunate the way you see yourself. It seems like you are a very smart person and have lived a very comfortable and privileged life. It seems as if you have never worked a hard day in your life. You have a family that loves you and needs you. Be happy with yourself and use your time to help others. Maybe this way you will see just how lucky you truly are.

    Shakira

    January 23, 2007 at 7:46 pm

  2. Okay, let’s see, you went to Barnard, are approaching 30, mother and wife and want to be a writer. That all adds up to: Read, “Living Out Loud” by Anna Quindlen. It says a lot about being 30- something, husbands, kids and being a writer.

    Barry

    January 24, 2007 at 12:39 am


Leave a Reply

