Avoiding Crisis

my not-so-brilliant idea

with 3 comments

When I decided to start this blog I consciously didn’t do what I typically do before I start anything – that is, research.  Okay, okay, I know what your thinking – why the heck would anyone think of conducting research before starting a blog – it’s just a freakin personal blog.  But I research EVERYTHING.  I don’t know how to be any other way.  It a natural thing for someone as nosy as me.  It should really be my profession – researching that it, not being nosy.  Researcher for hire! Is there even such a career path? Anyone know anyone hiring????  Okay, getting back on track…where was I?  Oh yes, so contrary to popular belief, I did not google “turning 30” looking for inspiration and fodder for this project.  I did not do hours of exhausting searches to find out who was writing what about thirty and what they had/have to say. And yes, pathetic as it may sound, this is something I would typically have done.  This time, I didn’t care.  Okay, I cared, but I knew all to well that had I done this, I probably would have never written even a single word.  (Oh and to think of what you’d be missing out on.)  I like to think that I strive for originality and there is nothing original about the early-life crisis of a woman on the verge of her 30th birthday.  (This character trait of trying to be original may answer why I have taken so few risks in my life.  Nope, not it, that’s just me being the most risk averse person I know.)  Anyhoo …  go ahead google “turning 30”.  I dare you…I double dog dare you.  On second thought, don’t.  STOP!  Don’t do it!  I said NO!!!  I’m begging you….there is NOTHING interesting out there, I promise.  You are supposed to only be interested in what I’m writing, you are supposed to be captivated by ME!!!  Me! Me! Me!  In all seriousness…we all know that what I’m doing here isn’t anything earth-shattering nor even remotely new by any standard but none-the-less I press on and accept the fact that I have come up with a not-so-brilliant idea.

This all being said, after 5 days of blogging, I finally broke down and googled “turning 30”.  Here are a few tidbits of what’s out there…

Brit Fiona Fraser writes that before turning 30 (and based on this list I would have to say that the original writer must be a male) a woman should have accomplished  parachuting, threesomes, living in a foreign country, abseiling (rapelling for us Americans), bondage, motorcycling, shagging on your office desk, singing karaoke and lesbian sex.”  Wow, I need to get moving…I’ve only got 3 of these under my belt.  And, no, I will not tell you which ones.  Use your imagination…

According to RA Miller, turning thirty means that “You are now officially too old to be characterized in the press and in critical circles as a “rising star.”  Oh no! How will I ever go on…. 

And on a more serious note…and my favorite…because I couldn’t have said it better myself, comes from an article written in 2002 for the San Francisco Chronicle:

Whether self-inflicted or imposed by peers or parents, I believe there’s an underlying expectation that you’re supposed to have it all figured out by the time you’re 30. Maybe it’s the increased competition that’s so pervasive in our society. It’s no longer acceptable to graduate high school and merely go to a college. You have to earn a 4.0 GPA, get an SAT score that’s off the charts and apply to a prestigious university. Then there’s pressure to get into the best graduate or professional school, and land a job making a six-figure salary. Of course, you have to climb the ranks, buy a house (if you can afford one) and a cool car, and travel to remote corners of the world….The reality is that most of us [are] struggling just to keep up. I suppose people in every generation feel they’ve drawn the short straw. Even so, the stakes seem a lot higher today.

Well…here’s to figuring it out.  Better get a move on it….only 205 days to go.

Written by nicolemarie

January 16, 2007 at 10:24 am

Posted in general, humor, life, personal, thirty

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. haha your blog is funny 🙂 I’m also a true researcher 🙂 I am captivated by you!
    please more.

    gnomesexist

    January 16, 2007 at 10:55 am

  2. You are having difficulty with 30 – well wait til you hit 40 and 50 and beyond. It is all about how you look at things. Is the glass half full or half empty? You think time is the enemy. I think not. Time is a gift you give yourself. The beauty is that you choose how you spend your time in the decisions you make every day.

    Your thoughts made me think about something that Louisa May Alcott, the American writer in the mid to late 1800’s said –

    “Far away there in the sunshine are my highest aspirations. I may not reach them, but I can look up and see their beauty, believe in them and try to follow where they lead.”

    At 30, your life is just beginning. It is never too late to do what you want to do. We all have periods in our life that we feel we are not being all that we can be. That is normal. Don’t let yourself get stuck in a rut. Do at least one thing new each day. It can be as simple as taking a new route home or trying something you have never done before. It could open up new possibilities or make you look at something from a totally new perspective.

    Also, allow yourself to be spontaneous! You don’t have to research everything to the nth degree or plan every step of your life. Let things happen! Relax, breathe and enjoy the time you have with your children. All too soon they will be grown and on their own and you again will be wondering how the precious time together slipped away.

    I leave you now with one more thought:

    “Nothing in life is to be feared. It is only to be understood.” – Marie Curie

    I have enjoyed.
    Thanks.

    Sue

    January 16, 2007 at 10:18 pm

  3. This is great- thanks for sharing. My 5 best friends and I all turn 30 this year. 4 of us hit 30 over a four-week period in the fall- we’ve been talking about what kind of party we’re going to throw so we can avoid talking about the fears we each have…

    Jamie Miller

    January 19, 2007 at 2:10 pm


Leave a Reply

