Avoiding Crisis

5 questions and 5 answers – a bloggerview

with one comment

So a few days ago while I was reading this which prompted me to write this I stumbled across this which just forced me to leave a comment here. And this, my dear readers, is how the story ends: I’m being bloggerviewed by Jen.

Which just means that I’ve gotten myself involved in an interview-a-blogger game, wherein one blogger asks another blogger five questions which are then to be answered on their blog. And in the true spirit of this game, if any of you would like to be bloggerviewed by me just let me know.

So here goes….

1. Do you think or dream in Spanish or English?

While I do most of my thinking and dreaming in English, my mother tongue, I do find that one some occasions Spanish will slip into both my dreams and thought process.

Obviously the whole thinking in Spanish thing is a conscious decision. Whether or not I slip into Spanish mode has a lot to do with where I am, who I’m with and what I’m thinking about. If for instance if I have an appointment/meeting/activity that will be conducted in Spanish, I find that if I’m thinking specifically about that activity, I think about it in Spanish. This is especially true if I knew beforehand that there would be a specific topic or something that I would have to explain in Spanish. In these cases I tend to run through what I’m going to say in my head so that I can be prepared. When I have to speak in Spanish I’m a bit less spontaneous with my word selection and sentence structure.

There are also certain words that I always tend to think of in Spanish. Some because I just like how they sound – for example, por ejemplo which means “for example” but has a nicer sound and just flows – and there are others that come up because there really isn’t an exact English equivalent and thinking of it in Spanish just makes more sense – like the word mimoso, which is often used to describe my son. It translates as “sweet” but really means more than that.

As far as dreaming goes, I don’t tend to remember my dreams but on the rare occasion that I do, they are mostly in English. That being said, I have dreamt in Spanish. And when I do, I’m always amazed at the level of fluency that is present in such dreams. In my Spanish speaking dreams, I speak like a native, which I find rather odd since I’m really nowhere near a native level speaker.

Thinking that this was particular to me and my bizarre mind, I asked my husband about this, wondering if he ever finds himself dreaming in Spanish. He said that on occasion he does, especially if he has a big meeting or presentation coming up that needs to be done in Spanish. He also said that in his dream he knows exactly what to say and how to say it as though he was perfectly fluent – which he’s not – and how he finds this a bit bizarre and kinda frustrating. Ah. So I’m not that strange after all. Either that or we’re both a bit odd, which just makes us even more perfect for each other.

2. What’s the greatest thing nobody told you about being a mom?

The one thing that happens the instance people find out that your pregnant is they offer you advice. During those 9 months, you get A LOT of advice. Some useful, some not so useful, most unsolicited. Even complete strangers give you advice. You get used to it and most of it you file away – some of it, though, goes in one ear and out the other.

When I was pregnant I got my fair share of advice. It seemed like everyone was an expert on motherhood and parenting. Of course all if it was wonderful news. Aside from your closest friends who are willing to tell you the truth about childbirth (as opposed to sugar coating it) but then follow it up with that whole schpeel about the amnesia effect – which apparently explains why some of us subject ourselves to it multiple times. But for some reason no one tells you about the colic and the spit up and the exhaustion – that you read about in a book.

But the GREATEST thing no one could have told me about or prepared me for was the amount of love I have for these two kids and how much they love me right back, unconditionally.

IMG_0483

IMG_0413

3. Name a blogger you admire and whose writing you aspire to emulate.

I’m kinda new to this whole blogging thing and I’m sure that I haven’t even scratched the surface of what’s out there. I would love to have the time to read more and explore what other people are writing about, but such is life with two small children.

Of those blogs that I do try to read on a somewhat regular basis, I particularly like Penelope Trunk of Brazen Careerist, Aimee at Amalah, Ree at The Confessions of a Pioneer Women, and Heather B. Armstrong of Dooce fame. I’m not really sure why I like these blog, I just do. One underlying aspect of all of them is their brutal honesty and humor. Well, Penelope’s blog isn’t all that funny, I mean how can you be when you’re writing about career advice, but she has some really interesting things to say and she seems like a nice person.

As far as writing style, I don’t really think that I try to emulate anyone in particular. At this point in my blog, since it’s only been a few months, I’m think I’m still searching for my own voice and kinda redefining my own particular style, that is, if I even have a style, cause sometimes I’m not so sure.

Oh, and Jen, I really like you’re blog too. :-)

3. Morning, noon or night person?

It depends. Well, actually, no, that’s a big fat lie. It doesn’t depend. I’m not nor have I ever been a morning person. Nope, I just don’t do mornings. In fact a few years back my mother-in-law bought me a pillow with the words “I don’t do mornings” embroidered on it. And just last night my husband felt the need to show me a write- up on this in the most recent issue of Parenting Magazine and even go so far as to hint that maybe it would be a cute mother’s day gift. (Hun, I don’t think so.) But he’s right, before kids, I did sleep late. It’s true, very true.

As for noon or night person – that depends on the day and what’s going on.

But in comparison to my husband, por ejemplo, I’m a total night owl. I used to be much more of a night owl, that is, before I had children and could sleep late. Though I’ve recently returned to my night owl status since starting this blog. I find that the only time I have to myself to write and read, without feeling guilty about it, is after everyone is asleep.

5. If you stumbled on a time machine, a la the Delorian, what time and place would you travel back in time to and why?

This is an easy one for me. The year would be 1969 and the place New York. So much happened in 1969, so many really interesting and historical events. I guess I’d like to see how people actually responded to them or if we’ve idealized a lot of it.

Also, my parents were married in 1969 – I would love to be a fly on the wall and find out what they were really like back then.

Thanks for the questions Jen. It was fun.

Who’s next?

Written by nicolemarie

April 20, 2007 at 4:20 pm

Posted in interview

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh me! me! I wanna play.

    Hey – your kids are beautiful!

    The spanish dreaming question is interesting. I don’t really know what your background is or why you are living in south america or how fluent you are in spanish although it sounds like you are.

    My husband and I talk about this a lot. His mother tongue is Urdu, but he learned English at a very young age which is the language used for school and work in Pakistan. He thinks about social situations in Urdu and thinks in English about work, or current events stuff like that. He can tell a joke much better in Urdu. I am far from fluent in Urdu but there is plenty of Urdu in my dreams because I hear it at home everyday. Anyway – interesting!

    Dawn

    April 20, 2007 at 5:52 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

